Content of the course

Why this course?

The real question is why do we practice in the first place? – To be Happy!

By articulating and describing each of the 21 Stages of Meditation, we have attempted to put into words the states of consciousness that are traversed by those who use the power of meditation to enhance their lives in their pursuit of happiness and peace of mind.

The meditations that guide us through the stages on the journey to Realization are designed to follow the natural structure and qualities of each stage. The experiences of one stage support the progress in the next stage. You can explore any of the stages on your own as an individual practice. The benefit of each meditation stands on its own; but the added benefit of practicing an entire journey comes from the intensity of the practice when done in sequence, within a concentrated period of time and in a community of practitioners.
The goal is clear: Be happy.

The nature of meditation is clearly recognized</em<: train your mind and develop awarenss.

The path is open: deepen your meditation in each of the 21 stages of meditation, to get closer to that state of self-realization.

Here Gurucharan Singh talks about each of the three journeys of the course.



Your inner flow begins. You focus at the sixth chakra by looking at the tip of the nose, where the two channels of breath come together. Your jappa and breath synchronize. – Yogi Bhajan

First Journey: Experience and Crystalize the Self

Recognise and dissolve your patterns towards yourself

Focus of the first journey is to recognize, experience and crystallize the Self. The blocks are encountered in the first four stages: upset, boredom, irritation and frustration. As we grow we have a sense of our Self, separate from all the commotions, emotions and sensory impulses; we begin to focus and recognize a still point, a nucleus within, which is the Self. It is this crystallized sense of Self that is needed in order for consciousness to work.

During the first journey we visit:

  • Upset: Meditation to Conquer Upset
  • Boredom: See Your Horizon
  • Irritation: Eyeglass Traatik
  • Frustration: Self-Hypnosis to Dissolve Frustration
  • Focus: For Focus and an Alert Mind
  • Absorption: For Absorption in the Crystal Being
  • Experience and Crystallize the Self: To Experience and Crystallize the Self

The Expressive Self

The Expressive Self

You speak and it is true. It is you. Your praanas and your projection are one. The nose for praana moves with the mouth in a subtle intercourse that yields worlds. – Yogi Bhajan

Second Journey: Express and Distill the Self

Recognise and dissolve your patterns towards others

In this second journey, the initial challenge is to develop sensitivity to the Self, especially as we engage in relationships and participate in life and all its commitments. Growth happens as we learn to discern our Self among the many identities we hold and the various roles we play. We cultivate the meditative skill to merge with our projection yet still be able to discern our Self among the many identities we hold and the various roles we play. In this way this second journey prepares us to maintain our integrity in action, recognizing the inherent stillness in any action.

This second journey comprises seven stages, some using several meditations:

  • Rasa: Meditation Series for Rasa
  • Delight: For Delight, Destiny and Creative Flow in Life
  • Politeness: Sat Kriya Variation to Merge with the Sense of the Infinite
  • Humility: Bowing Before the Infinite; Speaking Humbly before the Creative Infinity; Bowing for Humility to Transfer Prana
  • Elevation: Meditation for Elevation and Meditation for Rasas and the Inner Eye
  • Graceful Enlightenment: Meditation for Graceful Enlightenment and Strength of Heart
  • Express and Be Your Self: Laya Yoga Meditation Sequence with the Kundalini Mantra Meditation

Infinite Pulse

Infinite Pulse

Three gunas play in harmony. The opposites intertwine and support you without effort. Your heart center is open, your mind still. You sit in the heart of the great Mother, the Adi Shakti, that maintains the universe. Everything is done. You watch and in stillness feel the Infinite pulse of God. – Yogi Bhajan

Third Journey: Transcend the Self

Recognize and release your patterns towards Totality

In this final journey, we recognize all that we are as the formless presence of the infinite Self. We open the dimension of our transcendent Self. This journey requires us to go beyond differences and similarities into reality and unity. By forging an elevated identity with our infinite Self within our finite self, we become spontaneous, creative and flexible. We excel in this infinite game of the soul.

Love, compassion and kindness become the core of our experience. At the peak of this journey we become the nothing within the center of all that is. At this point mystery is now mastery. The sacred space opens up to intuitive presence, which serves innocence, savors life, blesses all, and praises the Infinite, the all within All. You become you, nothing more, nothing less. In this final journey, we become realized human beings.

The third journey guides us through seven stages, most of them comprising several meditations:

  • Presence Like a Beacon: Tattva Siddhi Meditation for Presence Like a Beacon
  • Everywhere Radiance: Polishing the Radiant Body
  • Prayerful Stillness: Deeksha Patra for Prayerful Stillness
  • Preacher: Chautay Padma Nirgun Mantra
  • Teacher: Traatik to See the Energy
  • Sage: Sarb Gyan Kriya
  • Infinite Pulse: Sodarshan Chakra Kriya

Additional Topics

In addition to the three journeys, skill enhancement sessions will focus on:
mantra, breath, dharana, dhyan and samadhi.

Deepening your own meditation

KRI Program “21 Stages of Meditation” in Kundalini Yoga as taught by Yogi Bhajan®.

This course is ideal for everyone striving for new impulses and approaches to deepen their personal meditation practice.

The “21 Stages of Meditation” is part of the intensive group meditation requirement for the KRI Level 3 program. (An overview on the new Level 3 Teacher Training program can be found here.)

The German 3HO Kundalini Yoga Teacher Training offers this course in such a manner, that both goals may be met: deepening your own meditation and provide an accredited module for the new Level 3 Kundalini Yoga Teacher Training program.

This post is also available in: German